How To be A Great Mum !

Posted on July 27, 2008. Filed under: Women Issues | Tags: , , |

Mother & Child

Courtesy;-
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother

Every girl would want to aspire to be a great and perfect mum after they have married and have kids. We may not know the hows or the whats but we will use our motherly instincts and intuitions whenever we encounter any problems.

We will dig here and there and ask our mothers,aunties, relatives and friends for advice or go online to research on this topic to overcome any imperfections of our career in motherhood.

We will try our very best and being a mum can bring on the tears, sweat, sacrifice , happiness ,joys and sorrows.

I came across this site which gave 12 awesome tips for being a great mum.

Stay true to yourself.

Being a mum can be a very hard breaking and unending task . You are expected to take care of the children single handedly without much help from your partner. If he can lift a hand and lighten your load, your life would be much better. You would be able to rest your tired body and be able to recover from the rigours of motherhood.

The men should try to help their partners whenever they can and understand their sometimes neurotic and erratic behaviours and also from certain times of the month when they are not their usual self.

Taking care of kids can be very stressful. It is a tough job bringing up kids and most men may not even stand or last an hour taking care of the baby alone.

Your whole life will now revolve around the children and you may not find the time to do those things that you like. Being single and being a mother are two different worlds apart.

Your single life or freedom to do whatever you wanted is a luxury or privilege which you do not enjoy anymore .Every second and every minute, your mind is always thinking of your children.

Don’t try to be perfect.

You are wasting your energy if you try to control your life and do things in a perfect way. When the children comes , your life will not be the same again . It will get more messy and crazier because you do not have the time and energy to make your life perfect. You would probably looked disheveled , with sunken cheeks and black rings around your eyes from the lack of sleep and exhaustions.
Accept things as they come and forget what other’s will think of you. You will look like a survivor from a war zone..LOL!

There is this beautiful prose of before and after you became a mom I found online .

Before I was a Mom.

Before I was a Mom…
I slept as late as I wanted
and never worried
about how late I got into bed.
I brushed my hair and my teeth everyday.

Before I was a Mom…
I cleaned my house each day.
I never tripped over toys or forgot words to a lullaby.
I didn’t worry whether or not my plants were poisonous.
I never thought about immunizations.

Before I was a Mom…
I had never been puked on.
Pooped on. Spit on. Chewed on. Peed on.
I had complete control of my mind and my thoughts.
I slept all night.

Before I was a Mom…
I never held down a screaming child so that doctors could do tests.
Or give shots. I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.
I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.

Before I was a Mom…
I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn’t want to put it
down.
I never felt my heart break into a million pieces when I couldn’t
stop the hurt.
I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much.
I never knew that I could love someone so much.
I never knew I would love being a Mom.

Before I was a Mom…
I didn’t know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.
I didn’t know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby.
I didn’t know that bond between a mother and her child.
I didn’t know that something so small could make me feel so
important and happy.

Before I was a Mom…
I had never gotten up in the middle of the night every 10 minutes to
make sure all was okay.
I had never known the warmth, the joy, the love, the heartache, the
wonderment or the satisfaction of being a Mom.
I didn’t know I was capable of feeling so much before I was a Mom.

And before I was a Grandma…
I didn’t know that all those “Mom” feelings more than doubled!

Author Unknown

There is a lot to discuss on this topic and you can go to the link below to read all those awesome tips to be a great mum. I could ramble on and on with my experience and it could bored you to death..LOL!

Reference and thanks to ;-

How To Be A Great Mom – 12 Awesome Tips
by Vered of MomGrind.

http://zenhabits.net/2008/07/how-to-be-a-great-mom/

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “How To be A Great Mum !”

RSS Feed for Laura1318’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

A humankind begins cutting his discernment teeth the initially time he bites on holiday more than he can chew.

Thank you for your help!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

